BLAIR COUNTY

2023 Board of Elections Minutes Thursday, February 16, 2023 1:00 p.m.

In Attendance:

Commissioner Erb, Board Member Donna Fisher, Board Member DeAnna Heichel, County Administrator Nicole Hemminger, Solicitor Nathan Karn, Election Director Sarah Seymour.

Public members present: A.C. Stickel

The meeting began at 1:00pm.

Commissioner Bruce Erb called for public comment.

County Admin Hemminger read an email sent to the "Public Comment website" from Laura Burke. Laura Burke questioned why the petitions for County Offices were in a booklet form and not printed on $8 \frac{1}{2} \times 11$ paper like other counties have done. The use of regular sized paper is cheaper and easier for candidates to reproduce.

A.C. Stickel offered public comment reiterating what Laura Burke mentioned and questioned the amount of money spent on these specialized petitions.

The Board of Elections members voted on how to reorganize the board with the addition of two new members. By order of the Court of Common Pleas, DeAnna Heichel was appointed to replace Commissioner Laura Burke and Donna Fisher was appointed to replace Commissioner Amy Webster.

Nomination for Chair – DeAnna Heichel nominated Commissioner Erb, seconded by Donna Fisher– motion carried unanimously.

Nomination of Vice Chair – Donna Fisher nominated DeAnna Heichel, seconded by Commissioner Erb- motion carried unanimously.

Nomination of Secretary – DeAnna Heichel nominated Donna Fisher, seconded by Commissioner Erb – motion carried unanimously.

Commissioner Erb motioned to approve the minutes from the September 27, 2022 board meeting – seconded by DeAnna Heichel – motion carried unanimously.

Director Seymour presented an outline of job responsibilities and election dates for the new board members. Commissioner Erb stated the need to come up with a schedule for canvassing mail-in ballots continuously until every ballot is counted. Each board member will be present for each shift until completed.

The meeting adjourned at 1:31 p.m.